Please, Whatever You Do, Don’t Misunderstand This Post!

In these days of Gay rights and Trans-Gender equality what I am going to write in this post could be badly misunderstood; but I’m willing to take that risk because I think there is something that very much needs to be said, but which I have never heard anyone other than myself actually teach! So here goes!

In my travels over the years I have met a lot of Christian men who I really do think need to get in touch with their feminine! You see, we men suffer from a generic male problem which we all too often just pretend isn’t actually an issue. The simple fact of the matter, though, is that, by and large, men – Christian men included – are the most appalling and insensitive blockheads!

However, before I am summarily disfellowshipped by just about every male friend I have for saying this let me make it abundantly clear that I am not going to be implying anything that in any way transgresses the divinely created gender order, or blurs the distinction between them. Absolutely not! Men are men and women are women, and no-one is clearer on that than I am: but there are nevertheless some fascinating verses in the Bible that have a very clear bearing on this. The first example I will give concerns Jesus Himself, and the second Paul the apostle. We consider first the Lord Himself:

“Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and you were not willing.” (Matthew 23:37)

Notice how Jesus here describes His sensitivities and longings in the most blatant of female terms; that of a hen with her chicks! Not because He thinks He’s a woman, of course not, but because femininity is forever associated with the more tender emotions of human experience. He therefore uses a feminine picture in order to communicate that such was the nature of His desires regarding the rebellious Jews, and that what He was feeling towards them were emotions of tenderness, longing and maternity. Now to Paul:

“We were gentle among you, like a nurse taking care of her children.” (1 Thessalonians 2:7)

Wow! The Greek here suggests the nurture given by a nursing mother to her baby. Speaking of the time he, Silas and Timothy spent with the saints in Thessalonica, Paul says that they related to them like breast-feeding mothers. And guys, it just doesn’t get any more feminine than that. He then goes on to say, “So, being affectionately desirous of you, we were ready to share with you not only the gospel of God but also our own selves, because you had become very dear to us.” (v8)

I am not for one moment suggesting that this means that Christian men should be over-emotional, sentimental, wishy-washy or irrationally illogical thinkers. Not at all! There obviously are ‘wimpy’ men, Christians among them, who need to seriously get in touch with their masculine side and who need to stop behaving like old women; but what I am saying here is that even though men ought to be strong, definite and bold leaders of their families and situations, they should also know what it is to be gentle, tender and sensitive to the feelings and situations of those around them…their wives and children especially!

So fear not, I haven’t converted to gender-confused liberalism. No way! I remain an avowed and committed believer in patriarchy! However much evangelical feminists wish it were not true, God is Himself (not Herself) unchangingly male, and patriarchy is His clear order for creation. He is the father of spirits, not their mother. Therefore, when such a God becomes a human being, there can only be one possible outcome; that is, He becomes a man and not a woman. Evangelical feminism falls and self-destructs at this very first post: Messiah was a man, and could not, by very definition, have been a woman! As scripture says, “There is one God and one mediator between God and man, the man Christ Jesus.” (Emphasis mine.) Salvation could never have been through faith in the Lord Jessica Christ!

What I do believe though is that manhood ought to be represented and thought of in terms of a somewhat more delicate and chivalrous bygone age. I am, after all, both English and male, and it thus behoves me to ensure that, at all times, and in all places, I behave like the English gentle-man that I am! And there you have it! Embedded in the very word ‘gentleman’ itself is the heart of true manliness: gentleness, sensitivity and tenderness! I put it to you that without being in touch with this ‘feminine side’, men who are strong, capable and able to lead – as well they ought to be – will inevitably become the complete blockheads I am here warning against,  instead of the gentlemen God created them to be. Only when you combine strength, authority, leadership and boldness with gentleness, sensitivity, tenderness and a heart of compassion, do you truly have the Lord’s idea of a real man! A man such as men were created to actually be, the ultimate example being the fact that never was there such a man more-so than the Lord Jesus Christ Himself. The shortest verse in the whole Bible is, “Jesus wept.” That Jesus had no qualms or inhibition about crying in public tells us something absolutely wonderful about Him.

Guys, we need to be in touch with our feminine side! As already stated, there are men – even Christian men – who haven’t even got in touch with their masculine side yet, and who need to just man-up, but it is not they whom I am here addressing. I am addressing those of us who do know what a man is supposed to be, and who do rise to that challenge, but who are still missing the importance of this other side of the equation. It is incredible indeed that needed male feelings, sensitivities, gentlenesses and sensibilities are referenced in God’s Word in blatantly feminine terms.

I sure hope I have taken you all with me on this, and that I haven’t overly put anyone off! Or even worse, caused anyone to actually want to object! But if you do want to object then all I can suggest is that we settle it like men:

Handbags at dawn it is, then!!!

2 thoughts on “Please, Whatever You Do, Don’t Misunderstand This Post!

  1. My wonderful husband is a man like this and that is why I was drawn to him! He is never afraid to admit when he is wrong and quickly getting it done in a very contrite, humble manner. He has shed tears at times when appropriate and is very sweet, sensitive and loving to me. Yet, he is strongly masculine as well! A balance of the best of both sides. I thank the Lord for giving him to me. Thank you for writing this because I have a friend whose husband acts like a blockhead, never is sensitive to her and never humbles himself when he is wrong and she needs a lot of prayer right now Bcs she is so wounded as a result. She tells me that I am so blessed to have a husband like I do and I agree and thank God for him! Thank you for writing this article, it was necessary! I appreciate this side in you as well and it comes out in your writing and teaching. That’s one reason I like your posts!
    Your sister in Christ, Janice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words Janice! Greatly appreciated! I am so glad you have a husband such as you do. Sounds like a wonderful chap. I consider your comments all the more relevant precisely having come from a godly wife. I wish you and your husband many years together and pray the teaching is a continued blessing. Many thanks and God bless you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

