My Very First Post On My Very First Blog

So here we are. My very first post on my very first Blog. Man, that’s scary! In fact, it’s only a few days ago that I actually found out that Blog is an abbreviation of Weblog. (I’d often wondered why Blogs were called Blogs, and now I know! And yes, I really can be that dumb!) But despite such monumental ignorance I have nevertheless been persuaded to do a Blog, so a Blog I will most certainly do!

But what to say though! Aah! That’s the problem now! I mean, how does one kick a Blog off? How does one approach something like that for the very first time? What if I blow it with my very first pontification? And how does one then keep it going? What if I run out of things to say after the first week! Hmmm! It’s going to be a challenge, that’s for sure!

So let me start with this…Hello, and welcome to my Blog! (Niceties are so important, especially given that I’m an Englishman!) We are embarking on an adventure together that can last…well, as long as either I keep posting entries or my readers keep reading them. And that adventure is going to be us considering, exploring and looking at anything and everything that might possibly help us to know the Lord better and to grow in Him together. A noble aim, I think you’ll agree! But hey, let’s start small with just a very brief post to get us going. Just a little nibble, so to speak, before some somewhat more substantial main courses to eventually follow. A little stroll, as it were, before the longer rambles are upon us.

One of the things I have come to realise more and more is that nothing should be thought, spoken or acted upon without the understanding that unless such is occurring in the light of 1) God’s Holiness and Righteousness and 2) His love and compassion and 3) Our helplessness as sinners before Him, then it is actually without value and just falls to the ground. When Jesus stated that, even as His redeemed people, we can do nothing apart from Him (John 15:5), He was saying that anything that is merely just us doing things in our own strength, as opposed to it being Him living through us because of our oneness with Him, it avails nothing. Even our direct service to Him, if done in our strength, accomplishes little of eternal value. Everything must, as Paul taught, be of Him and by Him and through Him and in Him and for Him. Only then will the genuine fruit of the Holy Spirit, and therefore true godliness, be the result.

And as He also said in the so-called Sermon on the Mount, the rain falls on the just and the unjust, His goodness being thus revealed to all; but as for me and my house, we want to be godly folk who are getting wet and benefitting from His many mercies, and not just selfish souls who are out for themselves instead of serving the Lord God Almighty and living for Him. To provide encouragement to that end, along with the challenges it entails will, I promise, be the quite deliberate aim and purpose of this Blog. Being the literary and cultured sort of fellow that I am, I shall end with a poem:

The rain falls of the just and the unjust

But less on the unjust fella

But that’s just because the unjust one

Has just stolen the just one’s umbrella

(Author, not unsurprisingly, unknown. Probably just too embarrassed own up!)

 

4 thoughts on “My Very First Post On My Very First Blog

  1. I do appreciate your sense of humor Beresford, although truthfully not quite as much as your devotion to our Lord and His Word. Sorry, I have favorites too!
    That said, it allows for a breather in this very hostile environment we call this world, to which we will be entirely free some day soon. I look forward to your words and much needed insight and encouragement as you learn to navigate this medium.

    Like

Leave a Reply

